Harry Potter Hurt My Sole

No, that’s not a typo. Harry Potter has damaged my feet and I am limping around like an old crone, looking for children to cook in my oven.

When I was in Florida, Baby Jesus and The Saint took me to Islands of Adventure so I could completely nerd out at The Wizarding World of Harry Potter. We rode rides, we ate lunch at Hog’s Head Pub, we checked out Ollivander’s Wand Shop. It was a lovely day spent walking and walking and walking. And in between walking there was much standing. By the end of the day my feet were in agony and I cringed at the thought of each step I had to take. In fact, while at dinner (in Tampa, it was delicious) I had to hobble over to Hooters to buy some flip flops because my feet were so swollen my shoes were cutting off circulation!

Now, weeks later, the pain is still with me and I found out that I have plantar fasciitis in BOTH feet. That’s the inflammation of the membrane between your skin and muscle of your heels, making the first 10 or 15 steps miserable each time you start walking and then just plain old painful after that. I look like I should be yelling at children to get off my lawn or possibly living under a bridge and charging a toll to those that want to cross. I seriously consider how badly I need something before standing up and walking over to get it. And do you want to know what the treatment is? Stretches and exercises that hurt even more, that you are supposed to do until it doesn’t hurt any more. Thank you modern medicine.

To sum up, Harry Potter has been causing me to limp around for weeks, with no end in sight. I am now the proud owner of a pair of Hooter flip flops and I would totally do it again if it meant fulfilling my nerd fantasy of strolling through Hogsmeade and watching people sip on their butterbeer. As a ginger, I may not have a soul, but I definitely have two soles that will never be the same.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

